Nothing particularly exciting to report, honestly. I’m still contemplating the mechanics of the resolution system, and I’m staring longingly at the observations I made last time, and I think I spotted something interesting:

The idea of Flashbacks representing a tie to our world.

And maybe the idea of entries in the Fable representing a tie to the fantasy land.

I’m trying to conceive of how these interact exactly, because I feel like they should! Something like, whichever is more filled-out by the time a certain criteria is fulfilled, determines whether you go home or stay in Fantasia. Maybe.

I figure, as of this writing, something like when you get In Trouble, you’ll have to make a Fable Entry. To reduce your Trouble Threshold, you’ll need to have a Flashback. When you have a Flashback, it’s harder for you to get In Trouble, thereby stifling continued Fable Entries. Maybe a converse, like something regarding Trouble will keep you from having Flashbacks.

I’m trying to work out how precisely these flow into one another! They need to, somehow. It’s how game systems work.

Maybe your relationship die with the Monster acts as the time, actually. Starts as a d4, or what have you. When it reaches d12, you’re on the cusp. You’re about to have to decide, once and for all. Or vice versa. And the player will actually navigate the ups and downs of their adventures, with this “clock” in mind.

All ideas I’m working on, and considering.

However, I admit here and now that I’ve been distracted this weekend by John Wick’s Houses of the Blooded. He calls it “the anti-D&D” and its an extremely evocative declaration. So far, it’s delivered as far as I can tell on the implied promises therein. It’s very interesting, very streamlined in terms of its rules. Very interesting in the way they all interact. I would recommend reading it for anyone who enjoys D&D but has issues with it, or anyone who enjoys an honest to goodness well-crafted game.

No major reports today. Just a work day.

